The Difference a Year Makes

It’s been nearly a year since my last post on this blog. I had kind of forgotten about it until Carolyn told me this past week, during our podcast recording nonsense, that I should write more in this space. She also informed me my Twitter widget is broken. That lady is always looking out for me.

TODDLERS BE LIKE

TODDLERS BE LIKE

It turns out when you have small children a year is a tremendous amount of time. Reading back through some of my older posts here I’m quickly realizing everything is different. Nathan is now three and half years old and is filled with intelligence, joy, creativity, and every last ounce of attitude you can squeeze into a 35 pound human. Any attitude that can’t be fit into him is crammed into the now 19 month old Kaitlyn. She is all diva, all day and it is making my liver cry. At the same time though she runs up and gives hugs, headbutts me while trying to do Eskimo kisses, says “cat” in appropriate context, and dances in the most amazing way. I will cope with full on diva status if those things continue. Once the hugs stop though this automatically becomes bullshit.

Aside from the children growing and evolving there are other changes that have occurred at casa de Stryker. Don and I have both switched jobs and we are both much happier and more fulfilled at work. This had led to us both being lighter, happier, and easier to be around which in turn has made our marriage a million times better. Being happy at work means being happier at home? WHO KNEW. It does not hurt that there is a little more income and that means we can buy better booze….errr I mean more organic fruits and vegetables.

Don and I have spent a lot more time in the last few weeks talking through the future. We’re discussing aspirations and talking about doing things that both of us previously thought were off the table. All of the frank conversation in our house is simultaneously making me incredibly happy and freaking me the hell out. Who are we? Suddenly we are this happy, communicative couple again. Something we haven’t been doing a very good job at since, well since Nate was born. Part of it is stemming from our job happiness but the other part comes from having finally found a parenting groove that makes sense. We’re better about taking things in stride now. I suppose it took the second kid to teach us to take a deep breath and chill the fuck out. I don’t know if you guys know this but I’m not particularly good at that part generally (shocking I know) but I’m getting better.

I enjoy talking to my husband and laughing with him and making decisions. I like discussing our “what if” scenarios and figuring out options for doing some of the things we really want to do. I feel calm and happy, feelings I haven’t had in a very long time. More of this would be incredibly rad.

 

About Elaine

Mom, engineer, writer, gamer, gym rat. Ain't nobody got time for excuses.
This entry was posted in baby, happiness, marriage, toddler, video games, work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

