Making Plans

I have a tendency to get a little crazy right around this time of year. It’s not that I worry about the holidays or stress about buying gifts. It has more to do with the fact that the end of one year drives me to start making plans for the next year. I want to know where we are going on vacation over the summer, what games I’m actually going to care enough to use my free time on, what classes/events/etc each of the family members are going to be participating in. In short, it’s not even Halloween and I am exhausted.

Over the weekend we did manage to answer a few questions. First, we are going to venture back to the Outer Banks for a summer vacation this year. My dad and I sat down and picked a property to rent as well as the week we are going to go and we got that locked down. To say I’m excited would be an understatement. With two kids in tow this is the only kind of vacation I can even imagine taking. It requires no air travel, everything we need can be packed or purchased on site, there are enough rooms for everyone, babysitters are built-in, food can be cooked, and adult beverages can be stored in a giant fridge. Oh and there is a beach right there. Yeah this is heaven for me.

Don and I have also largely figured out what types of activities we’ll each be doing and what the kids are doing running until at least June. I’ll keep hitting Judo at least twice a week and Don is participating in a bowling league through the winter. Nathan will continue to go to Gymboree in an effort to socialize him and keep him less feral. Now that the baby is mobile we might enroll her in a Gymboree class too. While it is a bit expensive I’m hoping it helps get her past her stranger anxiety.

Speaking of stranger anxiety holy sweet jeebus. This baby is stressing.me.out. Nathan never dealt with any sort of stranger anxiety. I’m not sure if it was because of his personality or because he went to daycare or both. Kaitlyn on the other hand is ridiculous right now. Everyone makes her cry except her direct family. My parents came to visit this weekend and she spent most of the day alternating between joy and the biggest crocodile tears I have ever seen. She’s usually so laid back that it is extra upsetting to see her so upset.

I’m not really sure how to handle it other than just ride it out and hope she outgrows it. I doubt bringing her around more people will magically fix it. It’s probably developmental but this is one of those parenting situations that make me feel like a newbie despite the fact that she is my second child. Stop flipping the script baby! I cannot handle this shit!

Do any of you guys make crazy plans as the year comes to an end? I’m curious to know if I’m the only one that gets planning anxiety as the calendar year starts to wind down.

About Elaine

Mom, engineer, writer, gamer, gym rat. Ain't nobody got time for excuses.
This entry was posted in baby, misc and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Plans

  1. I don’t go crazy looking ahead, but I do drive myself nuts looking back on the year and feeling like I didn’t do jack shit.

    This year, however, is different. I shook some shit up! 🙂

    • Elaine says:

      Dude, you so did shake some shit up! I’m pretty good about not freaking out about the past because I feel like I can’t change what’s done. I do freak about the future because I still feel like I have an impact on that.

Leave a Reply

