Fall is Kind of Crazy

I want this hoodie.

Fall is actually one of my favorite times of year. I like the flux between warm and cool. Throwing a hoodie on in the morning is one of the coziest things for me and combined with a cup of coffee it’s my secret happy place. One of my other happy places is running around with Nate out in the leaves and letting the baby bang on one of the huge pumpkins we picked out at the local farm.

Beyond the obligatory family things and cool weather this time of year also aggressively reminds me that I love video games. There are always so many new games between September and December, many of which I end up playing. It makes me smile to play through sequels and experience new IPs for the first time. This year is no different, with plenty of high-profile sequels and a bunch of new IPs that are interesting and fun to play.

Most of my time for the last two weeks or so was spent chugging through Borderlands 2. I played a bunch of it with friends, which is always a fun experience but just like the first game I invested a ton of hours into it on my own. I get the first chunk of DLC for the game today. I’ll likely get started with that as soon as I get my broken self back from Judo.

I’ve also spent a good amount of time with Dishonored at this point. That game is exactly what I look for in a new IP these days. It has a well-designed world that is interesting and makes me want to run around and explore. All of the mechanics are fun and work well. The only problem I have with it is that the game fiercely reminds me that I am terrible at stealth in video games. I try my hardest to sneak up on fools but what inevitably happens is they see me and I’m forced to stab them in the neck. I suppose it’s a first world video game problem. The game at least offers me the option to solve my problems with violence instead of making me fail a section every time I’m spotted. I suppose that’s a nice enough compromise for me.

My ability to churn through games is obviously hampered these days. Part of it is the fact that I don’t get weekends to plant myself on the couch with a controller in my hand. The other part of it is that Judo eats up two nights a week. Those are two absolutely necessary nights that I’m in love with but those are two nights that I often don’t have any leftover energy to play anything when I finally get home.

I still manage to finish a lot of games. I have a few quality nights every week to play and my husband tends to enjoy reading before bed so he goes upstairs much earlier than me, leaving control of the good TV to me. It also helps that both of our kids are doing reasonably well in the sleep department. We still need to settle the baby multiple times a night but it isn’t a big fiasco involving hours of rocking or anything crazy like that.

I’m really looking forward to the time when the kids are a little older and have the chance of being interested in this hobby of mine. Being able to play games with my kids is exciting for me because it’s something I grew up doing with my father and then later with my brother. My brother used to perch on the couch and watch me play games for hours. He never enjoyed playing, just ingesting the story while I operated the controls. Those are some of the truly happy moments my brother and I spent together as kids.

For now I’ll settle for having a warm hoodie, a cup of coffee (or a strong drink), and a video game controller in my hands a few nights a week after the kids go to bed. Long live fall and new games.

About Elaine

Mom, engineer, writer, gamer, gym rat. Ain't nobody got time for excuses.
This entry was posted in video games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fall is Kind of Crazy

  1. Toby says:

    The interesting thing would be if you shared all those podcasts with them when or if they get into gaming …

Leave a Reply

