Damn it Feels Good to be a Gangsta

I’ve talked a little bit about my reentry into Judo recently but I haven’t been too specific about the physical changes that I’ve already noticed just two months back into the sport. Before I ran off and got married I did Judo for about five straight years. I stopped right before my wedding and just never quite got back due to a combination of a new job and two pregnancies in two years. Needless to say throwing people and getting thrown was not condoned by my OB for during pregnancy. What.ever. It’s not like she’s an authority on the matter or something.

After I had Kaitlyn my husband pushed me hard to do something I loved at least one or two nights a week, Judo was his specific suggestion, I hadn’t given too much consideration to going back. It had been almost four years and in that time I had done a good bit of Jiu-Jitsu but I wasn’t sure if I was ready to dive back into a sport where concussions were a legitimate concern. Don reminded me how much I loved Judo when I was doing it and considering a close friend of mine had his own club I made the decision to give it a shot and see what happened.

I’ve been going two nights a week for about two months now. What happened was I fell back in love with Judo, which I discussed a bit a few weeks ago. The other thing that happened was I lost almost all of the leftover baby weight from both of my pregnancies. I’m about 2.5 lbs away from the weight I was at when I got pregnant with Nathan. I would argue that I’m around 10 lbs away from what I would call my “fighting weight,” or the weight I was at when I used to compete in either Judo or Jiu-Jitsu a good amount.

Word, kid. Word.

Quite frankly, I haven’t felt this good in years. My cardio is tremendous, I can climb the six sets of stairs leading up to my desk at work without breaking stride. I started adding lifting back into the mix and the weight I can lift bounces up weekly. I walk taller, with my shoulders back, and my confidence is back. I have my “Honey Badger don’t care. Honey Badger don’t give a shit” swagger again. In short I feel like me again. I haven’t felt like this since before I got pregnant with Nathan.

After Nathan was born I actually had a rough time mentally. I struggled with Postpartum Depression and couldn’t quite figure out who I was anymore. I was determined to not go through that ringer again after Kaitlyn was born. I would argue that the reason my husband was pushing on me so hard was because he didn’t want to see me like that again either. Going back to Judo, especially at a club as wonderful as Drexel Judo, has really helped me avoid the hopelessness I felt previously. I’m not just someone’s mother or someone’s employee. I’m able to grab a piece of who I was before everything evolved. Now that I’ve got that little piece of me back there is no way I’m letting it go. The biggest problem I have now is I have to do laundry two extra days a week and that is a problem I’m willing to deal with.

About Elaine

Mom, engineer, writer, gamer, gym rat. Ain't nobody got time for excuses.
This entry was posted in baby, judo, toddler and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

