12 Weeks (and a little change)

I’m very aware that most of you already know that I’m pregnant but status updates on Facebook can’t exactly be saved for posterity so I decided to start writing about this pregnancy here. As I go along I will likely give some info about my first go at this, partially for the sake of comparison and partially because I didn’t have this blog while I was pregnant with Nathan.

I’m currently 12 weeks and 5 days with a due date of February 26,2012. I want you all to know right now that this pregnancy is throughly kicking.my.ass. Nathan tricked me. That child made me think being pregnant was totally easy, I could do it a million times, it would be fine! This time it is SO NOT FINE. Morning sickness has been out of control until about a week ago when I was finally able to keep food down. I was starting to think this child had bulimia. All food seemed like a good idea and then it wasn’t. I actually managed to lose weight during my first trimester which I’m fairly certain is frowned upon when you find yourself in this state. I could be wrong. I should probably dig out all those pregnancy books…

Don’t get me wrong I was nauseous when I was pregnant with Nathan but not once did I actually throw up. This baby seems to think that activity is hilarious and it is rare for me to go a day without losing the contents of my stomach. I was so sick that I actually got incredibly freaked out when I started feeling better.

When I stopped throwing up I had instantly convinced myself that there would be no heartbeat and everything had gone so wrong! Luckily that was just two days before I had an ultrasound. It turns out everything is just fine in there. In fact this child would not sit still which drove the tech a little insane. After that ultrasound I was finally able to breathe a sigh of relief. Until yesterday.

Yesterday scared the bejesus out of me people. I started spotting a bit and nothing like that ever happened before. I immediately laid down, called my doctor and waited. If I started experiencing cramping that was bad, if I didn’t this could all be considered normal. It was a terrifying few hours but luckily cramping never came and everything seemed to be just fine. Now, I think I can finally relax a bit. Maybe. Probably not.

Nothing too exciting happens between now and 20 weeks when we get to find out what we’re having. At least at the next appointment I get to hear a heartbeat. That one little sound can be the most heart melting, nausea ending, insanity calming thing in the entire world. I’m going to look forward to it every day between now and September 8. Until then meet Baby 2 aka The Rebabying.

Woohoo!

About Elaine

Mom, engineer, writer, gamer, gym rat. Ain't nobody got time for excuses.
This entry was posted in pregnant and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 12 Weeks (and a little change)

  1. Scott Jacobs says:

    Baby 2: Electric Boogaloo?

  2. WesleyTech says:

    “Womb Wars: The Morning Sickness Strikes Back”

    Sorry to hear about all the troubles this go around! Hope that all the nausea will subside for you and will be done for. Tera had it really bad near the mid to end of the first trimester, but still was able to make it through without throwing up, she just felt really terrible and had trouble eating.

  3. Elaine says:

    WesleyTech, tell your wife I’m feeling for her too. This pregnancy shit is just no fun! This is why babies are cute by the way. It makes you forget the hell you go through to get them.

    Also, I enjoy the movie title themes for this pregnancy people. Keep them coming!

  4. Scott Jacobs says:

    Baby 2: The morning Sickness
    Baby 2: Babies United
    The Rage: Baby 2
    Womb Wars 2: Attack of the Babies
    Baby 2 1/2: The Smell of Diaper
    Child’s Play 2 (not much work needed for that one…)

Leave a Reply

