The One Where My Kid is Wearing Me Down

I’m not going to sugar coat this for you folks, we had the weekend from hell at casa Stryker.  Nathan is working on his molars and holy jesus I had no idea how ornery this child would become.  We are about one step away from a toddler’s head spinning on his shoulders and pea soup hitting every wall up in this bitch.  Nathan pitched a fit for every nap and yesterday he actually didn’t take a real nap, he only fell asleep in his stroller while we walked him around the block until my feet felt like they were going to bleed.  Needless to say Motrin has become our friend.  Honestly I would marry Motrin right now if I wasn’t already married to Don.  I have actively considered divorcing the man so I can remarry Motrin.  It has gotten that bad.

On the positive baby front Nathan is walking all over the place now.  He still has these awesome moments where his head seems too heavy and he wobbles backwards a bit before continuing the forward motion of his stubby legs.  It’s kind of unreal to watch him motor around like this.  He looks like a little person when he is upright and walking.  I can’t believe how much older walking makes him look as opposed to the baby like motion of crawling.  It’s going to be unreal when he’s walking full-time.  I don’t think I’m ready for that business at all.  Maybe I can talk him into waiting a few more years so he’ll be my little man for as long as possible.

Despite the teething horribleness I maintain my happiness about what I wrote in my last post.  I’m thrilled that I’m able to do a bunch of the things that really defined me before I had the baby.  I love playing video games and the fact that I have enough time to play them and talk about them on a podcast again makes me smile.  I’m also going to drop some of my stupid words over at The Married Gamers.  That gives me to talk about games in text again which is something I haven’t gotten to do in a long time.  Elaine==happy.  I think that’s all I need to say.

About Elaine

Mom, engineer, writer, gamer, gym rat. Ain't nobody got time for excuses.
This entry was posted in baby and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The One Where My Kid is Wearing Me Down

  1. Wes Novack says:

    “We are about one step away from a toddler’s head spinning on his shoulders and pea soup hitting every wall up in this bitch.”

    That one had me laughing! That and the profession of love to Motrin. My wife is pregnant with twins so this gives me a small glimpse at the possible calamities that we will be juggling soon. 🙂

  2. Elaine says:

    Oh Wes I’m feeling for you right now. I can’t imagine a world where the infant to adult ratio was 1:1. I hope your wife is hanging in there because her pregnancy must be at least twice as uncomfortable as mine was.

Leave a Reply

