The One Where I Remember Who I Am

When I had Nathan I honestly forgot who I was.  I left behind all of the things that shaped my personality.  I had stopped going to jiu-jitsu, I rarely played video games, I didn’t produce my podcast anymore, and tons of other minuscule things that aren’t even worth listing.  Nathan is a year old now and I’ve finally started to feel like I’m the same person I was before he was born.

I spent the better part of 10 months of Nathan’s life trudging through life kind of like a zombie. I got up with the baby when necessary, got through a full day at work, got the baby fed and clean and in bed, and then I would fight to stay awake for an hour before passing out just to wake up the next day and do it all again.  I had forgotten that my hobbies were more like passions.  I love to write, I love video games, I love producing a podcast, I like exercise (in any form really).  I am the rare breed of person whose job doesn’t define them but whose hobbies do.

When Nathan was 10 months old I started going back to jiu-jitsu and I started playing games again and all of these things really helped make me feel better.  I started writing this blog when he was even younger than that and it help as well.  Today I managed to record, edit and upload our podcast for the first time in what feels like forever.  That was the icing on the cake.  I feel like I have enough bits of my life before motherhood back that I’m whole again.  It’s not that I don’t love my son, I do very much, but in loving him I forgot how to love myself.  I forgot how to take care of myself for a while, how to have fun, how to prioritize my sanity and my happiness on occasion.

I’m starting to remember how to do all of these things now.  I’m remembering who I am.  It’s nice to have some time to remember that I’m more than just someone’s mother, I’m also someone’s wife, and I’m my own person.  I think sometimes we all need to be reminded that we aren’t just mom.

About Elaine

Mom, engineer, writer, gamer, gym rat. Ain't nobody got time for excuses.
This entry was posted in baby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The One Where I Remember Who I Am

  1. Sean says:

    Tis true, kids change everything. Just ask the GALACTIC EMPIRE.

  2. Pingback: Ch-ch-ch-changes: How my hobby followed me through my biggest life change – The Married Gamers

Leave a Reply

