The One Where I Hate Teething…Again

I wish I had something more interesting to talk about but seeing as I’m living life on the low-key (read: boring) track right now you get to hear all about Nathan’s 12 month checkup!  Excitement!  Intrigue!  Not really!

Anyway, we went to our pediatrician today to have Nathan weighed and measured before injecting him with a bunch of crap.  It turns out that Nathan’s height has caught up with his weight a bit.  Previously this child has been in the 75th percentile for weight but only around the 25th for height.  Combining this with the fact that he crawls with his elbows sticking out and you have the human baby equivalent of a bulldog.  He grew approximately 4 inches in the last 3 months which makes him better proportioned and keeps my pediatrician from trying to tell me Nathan needs to be put on the South Beach Diet or some other ridiculous shit.

While it was a bit surprising that my child has finally gained some height, the real surprise of this visit is that our doctor told us we can front face Nathan’s car seat.  For those of you reading this who are not parents or who do not frequent the American Association of Pediatrics website the recommendations for car seats were updated a few weeks ago.  Apparently toddlers are 75% less likely to sustain major injuries or die in a crash if their car seats are rear facing through 2 years.

It always surprises me a bit when doctors aren’t advised of new policies but it’s especially surprising when it’s a pediatrician.  I mean I’m glad that I personally keep track of the recommendations but I question why my son’s pediatricians don’t seem as well advised.  Are they questioning the recommendations and don’t agree with them?  Do they not have any type of continuing education or notices about updated recommendations?  Do recommendations change so frequently that they just ignore them now?

Aside from the conflicting information between the AAP and our doctor we came to find out that Mr. Nathan is working on his bottom molars.  This explains so goddamn much.  In the last few days he’s been extra cranky during the day, taking shorter naps, and waking up between 4:30 and 5:00am for the day.  I was just about to trade him in for a kitten but now I’m thinking twice.  At least now I can (lovingly) medicate my child and hope to tame the cranky, toddler beast that lives in my house.

Ok, now it’s your turn.  What do you think about doctors and new AAP recommendations?  Do molars suck as much as everyone tells me they do?  Why aren’t babies just born with all their teeth?  What variety of whiskey/tequila/vodka/rum should I buy to help me survive the crankiness of molars? Help me internet, you’re my only hope!

About Elaine

Mom, engineer, writer, gamer, gym rat. Ain't nobody got time for excuses.
This entry was posted in baby and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The One Where I Hate Teething…Again

  1. Scott Jacobs says:

    Do recommendations change so frequently that they just ignore them now?

    Basically, yes. I wouldn’t be shocked if there wasn’t a change every 6 or 7 months. When you consider all the other things a doctor needs to keep up with (medications, diagnostic methods, etc), I’d rather he not spend time to see if a bunch of statisticians had crunched the numbers again to come up with a new theory.

    Think about it… Actual, real people doctors have switched between “eggs are good for you” to “eggs are bad for you” back to “eggs are good for you” how many times in our lifetime?

    Crash data has so many places where it can get affected by things. What sort of car? Highway or city speeds? Where does your car get hit? It’s all guess work. strap the kid down, and move on.

    At least now I can (lovingly) medicate my child and hope to tame the cranky, toddler beast that lives in my house.

    Why are we bringing Don into this?

    Help me internet, you’re my only hope!

    You are SO screwed…

  2. Kevin Ayers says:

    The problem with the AAP rules is that they are, to a certain extent, “covering-our-ass” guidelines. They know that a lot of people are going to read them and accept them as truth as if it had come from the mouth of God. So they tend to be a bit overprotective.

    For example, near the end they say “Most children will need a booster seat until they have reached 4 feet 9 inches tall and are between 8 and 12 years old.” I know 18 year old freshmen engineers that aren’t 4’9″. Are they supposed to drive from a booster seat in the back seat of the car?

    That all being said, it seems that the AAP knows that they are being a bit overly strict. The quote in the release says “Smaller children will benefit from remaining rear-facing longer, while other children may reach the maximum height or weight before 2 years of age.” So they know that they can’t make a 1 size fits all recommendation as children tend to not be perfect carbon copies of every other child.

    My 2 cents, if he still fits in the seat that you have then keep using it. You’re certainly not going to harm him by continuing to to that which you have done for the last 12 months. He certainly doesn’t seem to have an ill effects from it.

  3. Elaine says:

    The thing about all this is that in European countries have much more aggressive rear facing rules. I believe it’s Sweden that dictates kid be kept rear facing until age 3, which is goddamn crazy talk. I can’t imagine having my feral child rear facing that long. He would destroy our car. Other European countries have regulations and suggestions floating more toward the 2 years old range.

    The thing is that regardless of car or even car seat these crash test results are real and they have been studied for quite some time. It has less to do with the vehicle and the seat and more to do with the fact that children’s spines are far less ridged than ours and thus more susceptible to injury when front facing.

    I do think you guys are correct about two things. First, the AAP does a certain amount of CYA because they know people treat them as commandments. Second, the regulations do change incredibly frequently and they must be very difficult to keep on top of. This one seems like a big deal though.

Leave a Reply

