The One Where I Got New Jeans

This post in entirely frivolous.  I’m mostly posting because I feel like writing but I simultaneously don’t have anything to say.  Is this the blog equivalent of talking just to hear yourself talk? Don’t answer that.

Today we took Mr. Chunky to the mall because we needed to get out in the world where the 3 dimensional people live.  I also was in desperate need of clothing, most especially jeans.  I destroy jeans.  I don’t know if it’s because I wear them to work often or if it’s the way I sit (constantly cross-legged even in my work chair) but I end up wearing the knees of my jeans out constantly.  I went to the Gap because that’s just the type of lame, boring chick I am these days.  I snagged a pair of the style I usually wear and then decided to do something crazy.  I tried on a pair of skinny jeans.

Look I know.  I KNOW.  I don’t think I’m cool enough or twig shaped enough for skinny jeans.  It turns out while I may not be cool enough for them they do in fact fit me in a way that is flattering.  WHO KNEW.  My mind was blown.  All that and they were on sale.  I was practically throwing myself at the counter screaming HERE IS MY CREDIT CARD THIS IS A GOOD DAY.  In addition to the delight of these new jeans I also bought underwear but that’s not at all exciting because my underwear is boring.  Now you know.

Nathan was actually super awesome at the mall.  He ate a meal sitting in a high chair in the food court without shrieking or throwing a toy at another human being.  I am far less civilized than my child.  I almost killed at least two teenagers.  I probably would have killed them if they didn’t travel in packs.  Teenagers are not unlike wolves and it’s a bit intimidating.  I can probably take on one or two teenagers but when we start talking about a gaggle of them I get nervous and back away slowly.

So to recap this was a good weekend.  New jeans of the skinny variety, baby who ate in public, mother who did not murder teenagers.  Also, Chopped is on tonight which might be my favorite part of Sunday.  Yup definitely a good weekend.

About Elaine

Mom, engineer, writer, gamer, gym rat. Ain't nobody got time for excuses.
This entry was posted in baby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The One Where I Got New Jeans

  1. Lisa says:

    Teenagers are fucking scary. I know. I own 3 of them. Or maybe they own me. I’m not really sure. I think you’re probably safe from them in the food court because I know mine get completely distracted by food. And they eat constantly. Seriously. Start saving now for the future grocery bills.

    I wish I was kidding.

  2. Carolyn says:

    I’m jealous you found a pair of skinny jeans that don’t make you look like a stuffed sausage!

    After I got out of my early 20’s, I realized the Gap has clothing that fits someone who isn’t in their early 20’s anymore. 🙂

  3. Elaine says:

    Carolyn, I think the trick to these jeans is that they have a little stretch to them. That seems to help the stuffed sausage look a lot. Also, I love the Gap. In general most of the stuff they have is cut well for my shape. Do like.

    Lisa, I am now horrified of 1. teenagers and 2. groceries when my son is a teenager. This is the stuff of nightmares. Well, this and my kid getting his molars. I’m going to need to start investing in good Tequila.

    • Carolyn says:

      I’ll lose the winter 10lbs before I go jeans shopping. Too frightening to contemplate now!

      Invest in an assortment: vodka, tequila, whiskey. 😉

  4. Elaine says:

    Carolyn, vodka does not last in this house. It’s dangerous to keep that around regularly 😉

  5. AblativMeatshld says:

    “I went to the Gap because that’s just the type of lame, boring chick I am these days.”

    It’s like I don’t even know you anymore…

Leave a Reply

