State of the Household

Oh hi. I didn’t see you there. Uh yeah so it’s kind of been a while and I know I’ve been ignoring your texts and stuff but look! A new post! Because I care about you!

It’s been a while since I last wrote. First let me give you the abridged version of what’s going on, the baby is now a whole 3 months old, the toddler continues to terrorize my house, and I have to go back to work on Monday. The last part is really causing me heartache. I’ve really enjoyed being home with the baby and that first week away is incredibly difficult.

When Nathan was a baby he was incredibly demanding. He wanted to be held all the time and when he wasn’t sleeping or eating he was usually screaming. Kaitlyn is a completely different kind of infant. She screams if you hold her too much and she sleeps fairly well during the night (the daytime is another story). She smiles all the time and if she gets bored simply talking to her or making silly noises is enough to entertain her.

I’m not sure if it’s a function of a much easier labor and recovery, an easier baby, or the combo of both that has me so cheerful this time around. I’m not sad, depressed, or even anxious. That means going back to work is going to suck even more than it did the first time when I was home with a challenging infant for 3 months. I will likely complain on Twitter about this most of next week so prepare yourselves. Feel free to tell me I’m being a whiny bitch. I will probably only pout for a few minutes if you do.

Right now Nathan is actually far more challenging than the baby. He is rapidly turning into a typical two-year who oscillates between incredibly sweetness and extreme temper tantrums. I didn’t realize how much having a two-year old is exactly like having a teenager with poor language skills. I suspect some of his nasty behavior is linked to the fact that his two-year molars are working their way into his mouth. I know I’ve said before that teething is a bitch but these specific teeth are such assholes that I almost feel compelled to try to create a new word for them. Assteeth? Assholars? I think I need some more brainstorming time on that.

What is fascinating about Nathan right now is he is getting to the age where he is starting to appreciate technology and I’m becoming even more grateful for its existence. We use the AppleTV daily to stream any number of movies I have ripped onto a huge drive up to the living room TV. I’ve been able to introduce him to some of my favorites like Cars, Ice Age, The Incredibles, and Finding Nemo. He also really digs playing games on tablets. I don’t let him use the iPad simply because giving a small, uncoordinated monster a $500 device is a fool’s errand. I do however, let him play Fruit Ninja and Angry Birds on the Kindle Fire which he loves. It seems to make him feel special to play games on that device instead of my tiny phone screen.

The baby on the other hand could care less about my shiny electronics. All she cares about is being fed, sometimes sleeping, pooping, farting (one of her favorite activities), and smiling when I ask who farted. Seriously. I wish I was joking.

As a final note I have attempted to distract myself from the fact that I have to be away from the baby all week to do my job by trying to amass any number of nerdy things I have in my house with which to decorate my desk. I would take a picture of it on Monday but I’m not allowed to do that. Just know that it is super nerdy and wonderful. There may or may not be a dragon statue and a Diablo 3 mousepad.

About Elaine

Mom, engineer, writer, gamer, gym rat. Ain't nobody got time for excuses.
This entry was posted in baby, sleep, tech, toddler, work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

